## FACULTY SENATE FEBRUARY 20, 2013 346 LEON JOHNSON 4:10 PM – 5:00 PM

## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY-BOZEMAN, MONTANA

Minutes

Members Present: Bennett (English), Burrows (Ext), (Durham (COB), Engel (LRES), Gerlach (BCE), Greenwood (Math), Harney (Music), Herbeck (Ed), Hostetler (GCP), Igo (Ag Ed), Kaiser (ECE), Larson (M&IE), Lawrence (Chem/Biochem), Letiecq (HHD), Lynch (Psych), Martin (Mod Lang), Mokwa (CE), Moreaux (A&RS), Neumeier (Physics), Newhouse (Art), O'Neill (Arch), Reidy (Hist & Phil), Rossmann (Library), Schachman (Nursing), Sharrock for Dougher (PSPP), Swinford (Soc/Anthro), Wiedenheft (Immuno), Zhu (CS)

Others Present: Larry Carucci, Colleen Moore, Phil Gaines

Chair- Neumeier called the meeting to order at 4:10 pm, and a quorum was present.

## Academic Issues for Consideration, Faculty Participation in Graduation - Chair-elect Mokwa

- Chair-elect Mokwa asked senate members to review the academic items for consideration listed on the agenda, and posted on the FS website, in preparation for voting. Status of courses are:
  - The GPHY 358 and BIOM 401 were approved in C&CP and will be voted on, by FS members, via email.
  - o BIOE 445 is under a curriculum review and it is tabled.
  - o Financial Engineering will be discussed and voted on in C&CP next week.
  - The Materials Science PhD is currently being reviewed by Grad Council, C&CP Working Group will
    review and be brought forward to FS for vote.
- MSU is providing something different than the stipend FS recommended for purchase/rental of regalia for
  graduation. A stipend was rejected, as it is an issue for the CBA. Rental of regalia was the option chosen, with a
  discount from the MSU Bookstore.

## Executive Session - Closed Meeting

A motion was made to go into Executive Session > seconded > all in favor > unanimously accepted.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:12 pm.

Signature, John Neumeier, Chair

Signature Robert Mokwa, Chair-elect

Minutes were transcribed by Gale R. Gough, Administrative Associate, Faculty Senate.